The 12th District

San Francisco is the headquarters of the Twelfth Federal Reserve District, which includes the nine western states—Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington—plus American Samoa, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Of the twelve Federal Reserve Districts, the Twelfth District is the largest by geography and the size of its economy.

Office of the President

John C. Williams took office as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco on March 1, 2011. In this role, he serves on the Federal Open Market Committee, bringing the Fed’s Twelfth District’s perspective to monetary policy discussions in Washington.

Meet the Leadership >

Meet the Leadership


A Master’s Degree and Surprise Marriage Proposal at the SF Fed
A Master’s Degree and Surprise Marriage Proposal at the SF Fed

“I definitely get the family vibe here," says Natalie Zohuri. It's no wonder. Police Services was in on her surprise marriage proposal, and she earned an MBA with the encouragement of SF Fed economists and help from the Bank's tuition reimbursement program.

Work for the Fed


Find Your Job

Learn how a career here will put you at the center of the financial world.