Symposium on Asian Banking and Finance

Central Banks in the Digital Age

Tuesday, September 27, 2022
5:30–8:00pm PDT
Virtual

(Wednesday, September 28, 2022
8:30–11:00am SGT
Virtual, Singapore)

Register

The 15th Asia Symposium will be held virtually on September 27th, 2022 from 5:30pm–8:00pm PST | September 28th from 8:30am–11:00am SGT. The Symposium is co-hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco and Monetary Authority of Singapore and will be open to the public.

Our theme in 2022 focuses on digitalization and innovation. Innovative technologies have brought profound changes to the global economy and enabled innovations in the financial sector. The agenda will discuss various ways that digitalization and technology are impacting central banks today, including implications for monetary policy, the public sector’s role in promoting and harnessing innovation, and the future of digital assets.

Agenda

27 Sept (Tue), 5:30pm–8:00pm PDT | 28 Sept (Wed), 8:30am–11:00am SGT
5:30pm (PDT)
8:30am (SGT)
Opening: Gillian Tan, MAS Assistant Managing Director (Development and International)
5:35pm (PDT)
8:35am (SGT)
Fireside Chat: FRBSF President Mary Daly and MAS MD Ravi Menon – “Innovation and Central Banking” (60 min)

Panel Description: The rapid digitalisation of the financial sector has required central banks/regulators to transform their operational models and approaches to respond to the evolving financial landscape and technological advancements. This fireside chat will focus on the dynamics between innovation and central banking.

Moderator: Celine Sia, MAS Assistant Managing Director (Economics & Knowledge Management)

6:35pm (PDT)
9:35am (SGT)
Break (10 min)
6:45pm (PDT)
9:45am (SGT)
Panel – “Beyond the hype and crash: What lies ahead for digital assets?” (60 min)

Panel Description: 2022 has been a testing year for the digital assets industry. The recent crypto market crash amid the collapse of several crypto firms has revealed vulnerabilities associated with both business models and the underlying technologies. Notwithstanding these challenges, innovations in the digital assets space continue to accelerate, unlocking new opportunities for the traditional financial industry. This panel brings together regulators and market participants to discuss the future of digital assets.

Moderator: Tommaso Mancini-Griffoli, Division Chief, Monetary and Capital Markets Department, IMF

Panelists:

  • Sunayna Tuteja, Chief Innovation Officer, Federal Reserve System
  • Sheila Warren, Chief Executive Officer, Crypto Council for Innovation
  • Sopnendu Mohanty, MAS Chief FinTech Officer
  • Kwee Juan Han, Group Head of Strategy and Planning, DBS Bank
7:45pm (PDT)
10:45am (SGT)
Closing: Azher Abbasi, Executive Vice President of S+C, FRBSF