Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco 101 Market Street, San Francisco, California 94105

October 27, 2010

To State Member Banks, Bank Holding Companies, Financial Holding Companies, and Foreign Bank Offices in the Twelfth Federal Reserve District

Janet L. Yellen and Sarah Bloom Raskin Formally Sworn in as Members of the Board of Governors

<u>Janet L. Yellen</u> and <u>Sarah Bloom Raskin</u> took the oath of office as members of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System on October 1, 2010. Dr. Yellen was also sworn in as Vice Chair of the Board. The oaths were administered by Chairman Ben S. Bernanke in the Board Room.

President Obama announced his intention to nominate Dr. Yellen and Ms. Raskin on April 29, 2010. The Senate confirmed them on September 29. Dr. Yellen was nominated to a vacant seat last held by Mark W. Olson, whose term expired. Dr. Yellen's term expires January 31, 2024.

Ms. Raskin was nominated to the seat vacated by the resignation of Donald L. Kohn on September 1, 2010. The term expires January 31, 2016.

Additional Information

All circulars and documents are available on the Internet through the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco's website, at http://www.frbsf.org/banking/letters.

For additional information, please contact:

Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco Media Relations (415) 977-3853