2017 Asia Economic Policy Conference

Thursday, November 16 - Friday, November 17, 2017
Center for Pacific Basin Studies, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
101 Market Street
San Francisco, California 94105

Conference Description

The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco Center for Pacific Basin Studies is pleased to announce its 2017 Asia Economic Policy Conference (AEPC), to be held on November 16-17, 2017 at the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco. The theme of the conference is “Monetary Policy Challenges in a Changing Global Environment.” The organizing committee invites submissions of research papers focused on topics with relevance to economic and policy issues facing the Pacific Basin.

Specific topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  1. Spillover effects of changes in U.S. monetary and fiscal policy for Asia and other emerging market economies
  2. Macro and financial implications of global trade policy changes for Asia and other emerging market economies
  3. China’s growth prospects and implications for emerging market economies and advance economies
  4. Prospects for global financial integration in light of BREXIT and other global political developments.
  5. Implications of elevated economic policy uncertainty
Submission of Papers

Submissions should be sent in PDF format to sf.er.pacific.basin@sf.frb.org by March 15, 2017. Decisions will be made by March 31. Completed papers are welcome, but we are also accepting detailed abstracts of no more than two pages. Papers with an explicit focus on economic policy issues in the Asia and Pacific Basin regions are also preferred, but not essential. The conference papers and discussant comments will be published in a special issue of the Journal of International Money and Finance, subject to editorial reviews for publication. The conference papers and the discussions will also be posted online. Economy travel funding and two nights’ hotel accommodation will be provided for presenting participants. In addition, we provide an honorarium of $6000 for each included paper. 

Organizing Committee

Zheng Liu, Mark M. Spiegel, Reuven Glick, John Fernald, and Fernanda Nechio