We are the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco—public servants with a mission to advance the nation’s monetary, financial, and payment systems to build a stronger economy for all Americans.

As part of the U.S. central bank, we serve the Twelfth Federal Reserve District, which covers the nine western states—Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawai’i, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington—plus American Samoa, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

Our three core functions are to support monetary policy, strengthen financial institutions, and enhance the payments systems. We listen to and learn from the communities we serve so we can make better decisions and policy to help our nation thrive.

By pursuing our two key goals of maximum employment and price stability—known as the Fed’s dual mandate—we work toward supporting an economy that works for everyone.

By the Numbers


Locations: Headquartered in San Francisco, we have branch offices in Los Angeles, Seattle, Salt Lake City, and Portland, as well as a cash processing center in Phoenix.


We process 77 million bank notes per day.


We support 400+ banks and bank holding companies.

of total U.S. personal income is earned by 31 million workers in the Twelfth District
Screenshot 2023-11-16 at 3.48.41 PM

About Us

We Are Your Fed

Watch this video and get to know the San Francisco Fed

Office of the President

Meet the President

Mary C. Daly leads the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, the largest and most diverse Federal Reserve District, home to one fifth of the nation’s population.

Our Culture


At the San Francisco Fed, we’re committed to understanding and serving the vibrant, diverse people of the Twelfth District. That means we seek and appreciate new perspectives. We respect people for what they do and for who they are. We build opportunities to learn and grow. Together, we’re part of a team united in its purpose to promote an economy that works for everyone.