Scott L. Morris Appointed to Seattle Branch Federal Reserve Board

Scott L. Morris

Scott L. Morris

Seattle, WA – The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco has appointed Scott L. Morris, chairman, president and chief executive officer of energy company Avista Corp., to its Seattle Branch board of directors. His appointment is for a three-year term and became effective January 1, 2011.

Mr. Morris joined Spokane-based Avista Corp. in 1981 and has served in leadership positions throughout the company. He was elected president in 2006 and named chairman and chief executive officer in 2008.

Mr. Morris serves as chairman of the board for the Western Energy Institute and is a board member of the Washington Roundtable and Greater Spokane Incorporated. He also serves on the boards of Gonzaga University, the Edison Electric Institute, the American Gas Association and ReliOn.

Mr. Morris is a graduate of Gonzaga University and received his master’s in organizational leadership from Gonzaga. He also attended the Stanford Business School of Financial Management Program and the Kidder Peabody School of Financial Management.

Other members of the Seattle Branch board include: Mary O. McWilliams (Chair), Puget Sound Health Alliance; Richard A. Galanti, Costco Wholesale Corporation; Ada M. Healey, Vulcan Incorporated, and Patrick G. Yalung, Wells Fargo & Company.

The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco (SF Fed) serves the public by promoting a healthy, sustainable economy, and supporting the nation’s financial and payment systems. With offices in Los Angeles, Seattle, Salt Lake City, Portland and Phoenix, the Bank serves the Twelfth Federal Reserve District, which includes one-fifth of the nation’s population and represents the world’s fourth-largest economy. As part of the nation’s central bank, the SF Fed informs monetary policy, regulates banks, administers certain consumer protection laws and acts as a financial partner to the U.S. government.