OHSU President Appointed to Portland Branch Federal Reserve Board

Dr. Joseph E. Robertson, Jr.

Dr. Joseph E. Robertson, Jr.

Portland, OR – The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System appointed Dr. Joseph E. Robertson, Jr. to the Portland Branch board of directors, effective January 1, 2011. The board of directors provides an economic perspective on the region to both the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco’s board of directors and the Board of Governors in Washington. The Board of Governors considers this information when determining monetary policy.

Dr. Robertson is president of Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU), Oregon’s only health and research university. Dr. Robertson is currently a member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, American Medical Association, Oregon Academy of Ophthalmology, Western Retina Study Club, Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology, American Society of Retina Specialists and the Retina Society. He has a B.S. from Yale, an M.D. from Indiana University School of Medicine, and an M.B.A. from the University of Oregon.

Other members of the Federal Reserve’s Portland Branch Board of Directors include: David Chen (chairman), Equilibrium Capital Group LLC; Megan Clubb, Baker Boyer National Bank; Peggy Fowler, Portland General Electric; Roger Hinshaw, Bank of America; and Roderick Wendt, JELD-WEN, inc.

The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco (SF Fed) serves the public by promoting a healthy, sustainable economy, and supporting the nation’s financial and payment systems. With offices in Los Angeles, Seattle, Salt Lake City, Portland and Phoenix, the Bank serves the Twelfth Federal Reserve District, which includes one-fifth of the nation’s population and represents the world’s fourth-largest economy. As part of the nation’s central bank, the SF Fed informs monetary policy, regulates banks, administers certain consumer protection laws and acts as a financial partner to the U.S. government.