Membership and Leadership Announcements for the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco’s Portland Branch Board of Directors

PORTLAND, Ore. – The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco has announced the appointment of Graciela Gomez Cowger, chief executive officer of Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt, a law firm located across the Pacific Northwest, as the Bank’s newest Portland branch director.

Graciela Gomez Cowgeri

Graciela Gomez Cowger

Download high resolution photo (jpg, 109 kb)

Ms. Gomez Cowger joined Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt as chief executive officer in 2017. From 2007 to 2015, Ms. Gomez Cowger was a managing director at Stolowitz Ford Cowger in Portland, Oregon. Her career as an intellectual property attorney also includes prior roles at Marger Johnson & McCollum in San Diego, and Hewlett-Packard Co. in San Diego. Ms. Gomez Cowger holds a juris doctor degree from the University of Washington School of Law and a bachelor’s degree from San Diego State University.

The Bank also announced Anne C. Kubisch, president and chief executive officer of The Ford Family Foundation in Roseburg, Oregon, has been designated as Chair of the Portland branch board for 2021.

In addition, the Bank announced the reappointments of Hilary K. Krane, executive vice president, chief administrative officer, and general counsel of NIKE Inc. in Beaverton, Oregon; and Cheryl R. Nester Wolfe, president and chief executive officer of Salem Health Hospital and Clinics in Salem, Oregon, to the Portland Branch board.

The remaining Portland Branch board of directors includes:

Gale Castillo, president, Cascade Centers, Inc., Portland, Oregon

Stacey M.L. Dodson, market president, Portland and Southwest Washington, U.S. Bank, Portland, Oregon

Maria M. Pope, president and chief executive officer, Portland General Electric Company, Portland, Oregon

About the Boards of Directors

The Federal Reserve Act of 1913 requires each of the 12 Reserve Banks to operate under the supervision of a board of directors. The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco’s head office is governed by nine directors who represent the interests of the 12th Reserve District and whose experience provides the Bank with a wider range of expertise that helps it fulfill its policy and operational responsibilities. The nine directors of each Reserve Bank are divided evenly by classification: Class A directors represent the member banks in the District; Class B directors and Class C directors represent the interests of the public. In the case of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, its four branches in Los Angeles, Portland, Salt Lake City and Seattle each have a separate seven-member branch board.

The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco (SF Fed) serves the public by promoting a healthy, sustainable economy, and supporting the nation’s financial and payment systems. With offices in Los Angeles, Seattle, Salt Lake City, Portland and Phoenix, the Bank serves the Twelfth Federal Reserve District, which includes one-fifth of the nation’s population and represents the world’s fourth-largest economy. As part of the nation’s central bank, the SF Fed informs monetary policy, regulates banks, administers certain consumer protection laws and acts as a financial partner to the U.S. government.