Scott L. Morris Appointed to Seattle Branch Federal Reserve Board

January 5, 2011

Scott L. Morris

Scott L. Morris

Seattle, WA – The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco has appointed Scott L. Morris, chairman, president and chief executive officer of energy company Avista Corp., to its Seattle Branch board of directors. His appointment is for a three-year term and became effective January 1, 2011.

Mr. Morris joined Spokane-based Avista Corp. in 1981 and has served in leadership positions throughout the company. He was elected president in 2006 and named chairman and chief executive officer in 2008.

Mr. Morris serves as chairman of the board for the Western Energy Institute and is a board member of the Washington Roundtable and Greater Spokane Incorporated. He also serves on the boards of Gonzaga University, the Edison Electric Institute, the American Gas Association and ReliOn.

Mr. Morris is a graduate of Gonzaga University and received his master’s in organizational leadership from Gonzaga. He also attended the Stanford Business School of Financial Management Program and the Kidder Peabody School of Financial Management.

Other members of the Seattle Branch board include: Mary O. McWilliams (Chair), Puget Sound Health Alliance; Richard A. Galanti, Costco Wholesale Corporation; Ada M. Healey, Vulcan Incorporated, and Patrick G. Yalung, Wells Fargo & Company.

Steven Fisher
Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
(425) 203-0799

The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, with branch offices in Los Angeles, Seattle, Salt Lake City, and Portland, and a cash processing office in Phoenix, provides wholesale banking services to financial institutions throughout the nine western states. As the nation’s central bank, the Federal Reserve System formulates monetary policy, serves as a bank regulator, administers certain consumer protection laws, and is fiscal agent for the U.S. government. Follow us on Twitter at