Community Reinvestment Act

The Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) is a landmark law enacted in 1977 to address systemic inequities in access to credit. The CRA encourages banks to help meet the credit needs of entire communities in which they do business, with a focus on low- and moderate-income (LMI) communities, consistent with safe and sound banking practices.

The SF Fed is committed to facilitating the availability of financial services and capital by banks through training, roundtables, and collaborations with community investment partners to maximize impact in LMI communities. Working with both banks and the network of community development stakeholders, we seek to advance innovations in the application of the CRA that is adaptive to the evolving nature of banking and the community development field.

On October 24, 2023, the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, and the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency jointly issued a final rule to update regulations that implement the Community Reinvestment Act (CRA).
CRA Final Rule
CRA Fact Sheet
Overview of the CRA Final Rule

Help our country reach its full economic potential.