Federal Reserve Bank Cash Services

The Reserve Banks that make up the Federal Reserve System provide services to financial institutions, which in turn provide services to businesses and the general public.

The Federal Reserve System is divided into 12 Districts, which are headquartered in Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Cleveland, Richmond, Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, Minneapolis, Kansas City, Dallas, and San Francisco.

Many Districts also have branch offices and cash processing operation centers that assist in the effective distribution of currency and coin to better serve the public.

In this section, you’ll learn more about our locations, how currency is processed and distributed, and our environmental initiatives. We’ll feature the 12th District Cash Services operations throughout this section to take you behind the scenes with the people and operations that provide Cash Services to the geographically largest Federal Reserve District in the country.

In This Section

The Cash Operation

Environmental Initiatives


12th District Cash Operations

What is the Fed: Structure