San Francisco Fed Key Facts

What Is the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco is one of the 12 Reserve Banks in the Federal Reserve System. San Francisco is the headquarters of the Twelfth Federal Reserve District, which includes the nine western states—Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawai’i, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington—plus American Samoa, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Branch offices are located in Los Angeles, Portland, Salt Lake City, and Seattle, with a cash processing center in Phoenix. The information presented below does not include the District’s island territories. Data sources available upon request. Revised September 2020.

Geography and Demographics +

Cash Processing +

Banking Environment +

Financial Situation +

System Earnings +

Payments +