San Francisco Fed Forms Twelfth District Community Advisory Council

San Francisco, California — The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco has launched the Twelfth District Community Advisory Council, a group composed of leaders of nonprofit and community organizations from throughout the Bank’s district. The Council will provide the San Francisco Fed a diverse, on-the-ground perspective on issues impacting communities throughout the region. The group’s opening meeting will be on May 9.

The Council will serve as an important source of information on current and pending developments in the regional and national economy, with a particular emphasis on underserved and lower-income communities. The Council will provide this perspective to the Bank’s president and senior management. The group will meet in person twice each calendar year.

Council members are selected by the President of the San Francisco Fed, and are drawn from various groups and organizations within the nine-state 12th District. The initial members will be assigned to three approximately equal groups: initial Group 1 Members will serve for two years, initial Group 2 Members will serve for three years and initial Group 3 Members will serve for four years. Terms end on December 31 even if the member has served for less than a full year; however, any member’s term may be extended at the discretion of the San Francisco Fed President.

The inaugural group is chaired by Dean Matsubayashi. Mr. Matsubayashi, whose term ends in 2018, is the executive director of the Little Tokyo Service Center in Los Angeles, California. Mr. Matsubayashi also serves on the Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco Advisory Council and the JPMorgan Chase Community Advisory Board, and holds advisory positions in several other professional and civic groups. He graduated from the University of California, Irvine in 1993 and holds a master’s degree in public policy from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

Other initial members and service-end dates are as follows:

  • Orson Aguilar, president of The Greenlining Institute, Oakland, CA (2020)
  • Terry Benelli, executive director of LISC Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ (2018)
  • Fred Blackwell, president of The San Francisco Foundation, San Francisco, CA (2018)
  • La Shelle Dozier, executive director of the Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Agency, Sacramento, CA (2020)
  • Paulina Gonzalez , executive director of the California Reinvestment Coalition, San Francisco, CA (2019)
  • Carol Gore, president and CEO of the Cook Inlet Housing Authority, Anchorage, AK (2018)
  • Cherie Jamason, president and CEO of the Food Bank of Northern Nevada, McCarran, NV (2018)
  • Michelle Kahuane, executive director of the Council for Native Hawaiian Advancement, Kapolei, HI (2020)
  • Irma Morin, CEO of the Community Council of Idaho, Caldwell, ID (2019)
  • Tim Paulson, executive director of the San Francisco Labor Council, San Francisco, CA (2019)
  • Jose Quiñonez, CEO of the Mission Asset Fund, San Francisco, CA (2020)
  • Bill Rumpf, president of Mercy Housing Northwest, Seattle, WA (2019)
  • Carl Talton, ex officio chair of United Fund Advisors, Portland, OR (2020)

The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco (SF Fed) serves the public by promoting a healthy, sustainable economy, and supporting the nation’s financial and payment systems. With offices in Los Angeles, Seattle, Salt Lake City, Portland and Phoenix, the Bank serves the Twelfth Federal Reserve District, which includes one-fifth of the nation’s population and represents the world’s fourth-largest economy. As part of the nation’s central bank, the SF Fed informs monetary policy, regulates banks, administers certain consumer protection laws and acts as a financial partner to the U.S. government.